Overview | | |

Teaching staff in the Translation Programme supervise MPhil and PhD students conducting research related to translation studies in the English Department.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
A PhD is awarded after completing a period of supervised research and submitting a thesis that shows evidence of originality and independent critical judgement. The duration of the PhD Programme is 3 years (full-time), and it can also be carried out on a part-time basis in 6 years.

Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
The MPhil programme requires a period of supervised research and the submission of a thesis. The degree programme is usually completed within a duration of 2 year (full-time) and may be carried out on a part-time basis in 4 years.

Each research postgraduate student will have a chief supervisor and a co-supervisor both of whom you will meet with regularly. The University has a rigorous and efficient monitoring system in place which facilitates satisfactory progress assessment including bi-annual record of meetings with supervisors and progress reports.

All research postgraduate students are also required to complete a minimum of 12 units of coursework, one of which is Required Readings in Translation Studies. Those who have a relevant Master’s degree may be exempted from 3 units.

Many research students are given the opportunity to present their research findings at the Translation Seminar Series which gives students the chance to enhance confidence, develop communication skills and be benefited from their contact with researchers and scholars in their field.

课程概览 | ENGLISH | |

翻译课程教师指导在所属的英文学系内从事翻译学研究的哲学硕士和哲学博士研究生。

哲学博士学位 (PhD)
哲学博士研究生在导师指导下进行研究,并能提交一份具原创概念又富独立判断的论文,才会获颁发哲学博士学位。博士研究生须于3年(全日制)内完成研究,如以兼读形式修读哲学博士学位,则须于6年内完成。

哲学硕士学位 (MPhil)
哲学硕士研究生需在导师指导下进行研究,并提交一份论文。硕士研究生一般于2年(全日制)内完成研究,兼读的则须于4年内完成。

每名研究生均由一位主导师和一位副导师负责指导研究,大家会定期见面,以监督研究进度。大学设有严谨而行之有效的机制,确保研究生的研究进度合适,相关的措施包括每两年提交一次会面数据记录和每年提交一份进度报告。

所有研究生均须完成不少于12个学分的学科,其中一个为「翻译研究必修课」。持有相关范畴的硕士学位,或可获豁免3个学分。

在学期间,研究生会获翻译研究中心邀请,在其举办的「翻译研讨会系列」中发表研究成果,令研究生有机会跟行内学者和研究人员交流,增加他们的自信,加强沟通技巧。