Course Description | | |

WESTERN TRANSLATION THEORY (3 units)
This Course discusses some of the most important historical as well as contemporary ideas on translation within the Western tradition of translation theory. Building on the basic knowledge about translation which students may have already acquired from their undergraduate studies, the Course focuses on translation theory at a more sophisticated and advanced level. Students are encouraged to think critically about translation issues and discuss existing theories and models, so that they may develop their own views on translation. This Course works in tandem with “Chinese Discourse on Translation”.

 

CHINESE DISCOURSE ON TRANSLATION (3 units)
This Course is designed to acquaint students with the views and ideas on translation that have emerged in China, from earliest times to the present day. Through the reading of primary texts and the analysis of these texts in their historical contexts, students are encouraged to develop a sense of the Chinese tradition of discourse on translation, identify its distinctive features, examine important moments of disruption and dynamic growth, and reflect critically on the contemporary relevance of such a heritage. The use of the term “discourse” in the course title is deliberate. The purpose is to invite questions on why the term “theory” is not used, and thus to provoke discussions on the theoretical differences between the concept of “discourse” and that of “theory”. The Course works in tandem with “Western Translation Theory” to provide students with a sound foundation upon which to conduct comparative studies and to develop their own thinking about translation and intercultural exchange.

 

ESSENTIAL READING IN TRANSLATION STUDIES (3 units)
This Course engages students in research reading in order to broaden their vision of translation and translation theory. Emphasis is placed on major contemporary works on translation theory published in the English language. Through guided reading and in-depth discussion, students should be able to better understand and appreciate some of the most influential translation theories and approaches in the modern translation studies field, and develop their own thinking about translation studies.

 

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY (3 units)
This Course is designed to engage students in choosing, designing and applying research methods that are commonly used in translation and bilingual communication studies. Students are encouraged to conduct reflections on these methodologies. In addition, they are trained to acquire the skills necessary for the writing of research reports for academic and/or professional purposes.

 

TRANSLATION SEMINARS (I & II) (3 units)
This Course provides a platform for discussion and dialogue among postgraduate students, research supervisors and colleagues in the field of Translation Studies. Seminars are organised to facilitate intellectual exchange and friendly debates in order to further invigorate the pursuit of knowledge and ideas in translation. Students are encouraged to engage critically with topics in a wide range of domains including translation theory, translation history, translation practice, translation criticism, the relation between translation and bilingual communication, and others. In addition to giving seminar presentations, students get the opportunity to attend the seminars held at the Centre for Translation of HKBU. These seminars, each of which lasts for an hour, followed by an hour of discussion, offer a good introduction to the latest landmarks in the field.

 

METHODS AND STRATEGIES OF TRANSLATION (3 units) (E-C AND C-E)(3 units)
This is a practical course. It is designed to familiarise students with the various methods and principles of translation. The different considerations in translating texts of different genres for different purposes will be highlighted. Practical exercises are taken from a variety of sources including newspapers, magazines, legal and government documents, stage scripts and film subtitles, literary works and others. Students will be required to reflect on their own experience of translating these texts and formulate their own strategies in order to prepare themselves for professional practice.

 

BILINGUAL COMMUNICATION: STYLE, RHETORIC AND DELIVERY (3 units)
This Course is practical in orientation. It is designed to sensitise students to the intricacies of the English and the Chinese languages in use in different situations, and to help students accomplish stylistic manoeuvres in acts of communication. Students will be required to read up, write about and speak on an extensive range of topics so that they will become familiar with a wide range of genres. Special attention will be given to the cultivation of writing styles, application of rhetoric and ways of delivery in both written and spoken communication. Linguistic and cultural contrasts in the use of English and Chinese will be highlighted. Speech Act Theory and other current communication theories will be used to help students better understand what takes place in the act of communication.

 

BILINGUAL PRESENTATION: ADAPTATION AND REWRITING (3 units)
This Course is practical in orientation. It is designed to help students produce texts by using materials effectively in cross-lingual situations, i.e., to produce texts in English using Chinese source materials and vice versa. Exercises will cover a wide range of genres and areas including news, entertainment, information technology, science, business and others. Focus will be placed on the skills of contextual interpretation of materials, concise expression of ideas, accurate translation of terminology, effective management of information and good communication. Students will learn to handle information in a discriminating and target-oriented manner. They will be given help to improve their language skills in both English and Chinese. They will also be alerted to the importance of presenting and packaging information in attractive ways. Special attention will be given to cultural sensitivity in handling information in cross-cultural situations.

 

BILINGUAL WRITING FOR CREATIVE INDUSTRIES (3 units)
This Course is designed to help students cope with the increasing demand for bilingual writers for the creative industries. Students will be introduced to the various creative industries such as advertising, publishing, broadcasting, performing and fine arts, film making and antique dealing. They will learn to conduct research on these areas, and to appreciate the conventions and requirements of writing for the creative industries in English and in Chinese. Students’ attention will also be drawn to culturally and politically sensitive issues relating to creativity and culture in the context of Hong Kong.

 

MASTER CLASSES IN TRANSLATION (3 units)
This Course is designed to provide students with more advanced practical knowledge in translation. Each semester, established practitioners in specific fields of translation will be invited to give classes. These fields include literary translation, drama translation, media translation, legal translation, finance translation, translation of Chinese medicine and others. These practitioners will share their skills and experience with the students. They will also offer diagnosis of individual students’ performance. In the course of discussion, certain aspects of the translation process will be highlighted and some preconceived notions of translation problematised.

 

DISSERTATION / PROJECT (3 units of each semester)
This Course spans two semesters. Students in the Research Stream will produce an extended piece of translation or bilingual writing, or a dissertation. Students in the Practical Stream will produce an extend piece of translation or bilingual writing. Translation projects should be from English into Chinese or vice versa. Bilingual writing projects require output in both Chinese and English. Dissertations can be in either English or Chinese, depending on the research topics. The length of the dissertation/project should normally be between the lower limit of 12,000 words/characters and the upper limit of 16,000 words/characters, although greater flexibility is allowed under special circumstances. Students will receive individual supervision.

 

GENDER ISSUES IN TRANSLATION (3 units)
This Course is designed to introduce students to gender issues involved in translation. It covers topics including gender construction, gender politics, gendered discourse and gendered language. Students will discuss how these issues would affect translation strategies adopted by individual translators. They will also examine Chinese translations of key terms in gender studies (‘gender discourse’, ‘gendered discourse’, for example) and analyse the theoretical and ideological implications of these translations. An inter-disciplinary approach is adopted.

 

CORPUS–BASED APPROACH TO TRANSLATION (3 units)
This Course is designed to introduce students to the application of corpora to the practice of and research on translation. It helps students to design, conduct research and report research findings using the corpora approach.

 

TRANSLATION THEORY: A COMPARATIVE APPROACH (3 units)
This Course helps students acquire an in-depth view of translation theory from a comparative perspective. It examines Western thinking about translation in comparison with Chinese discourse on translation. It investigates and analyses some of the major areas where Chinese and Western discourses on translation are similar to or different from each other. Through discussion of these similarities and differences, as well as the socio-cultural contexts under which they are found, students will learn to approach such fundamental issues as the nature, principles and methods of translation with enhanced skills and a broadened vision.

 

PATRONAGE AND TRANSLATION OF CHRISTIAN TRACTS (3 units)
This Course is designed to introduce students to a lesser-known, yet hugely influential, Protestant institution — the Religious Tract Society, London (founded in 1799) — which played a predominant role in sponsoring the global enterprise of translating Christian tracts in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The Course aims to scrutinise the role of institutional patronage in the translation of Christian tracts into Chinese. In particular, it examines the policies of tract societies which had a significant impact on of the selection of texts for translation and on ideological censorship. Also explored in depth will be the issues surrounding the transplantation of RTS ideology onto Chinese soil, and the institution-individual power relations in the process of cross-cultural translation activity.

 

INTRODUCTION TO INTERPRETING (3 units)
This course aims to enable students to develop the basic skills of consecutive interpreting. Through interpreting practice and other learning activities, students will be introduced to basic interpreting concepts and techniques.

 

ADVANCED ENGLISH FOR TRANSLATORS (3 units)
This course aims to give students a firmer grasp of key aspects of English grammar, text-structure and stylistics, as appropriate for those in the translation field. Mainly English-language material will be used, but a certain amount of Chinese material will be introduced (for instance in the form of translation exercises), in keeping with the ultimate objective of the course, which is to provide students with a greater sophistication and sensitivity when encountering and using English in their translation work.

 

SIMULTANEOUS INTERPRETING (3 units)
This course, built upon the skills and techniques trained in Consecutive Interpreting, aims to provide intensive training in simultaneous interpreting which is a mode often used in conferences and business settings. Students will develop skills and techniques for simultaneous interpreting through exercises in various forms and on different topics, both with authentic speeches and in simulated settings.

 

CONFERENCE INTERPRETING (3 units)
This course aims to refine students’ interpreting skills and techniques in conference settings. In addition to the introduction of professional ethics, the course helps students navigate through the processes of conference preparation and delivery. It includes interpreting exercises for simulated and live conferences, with a view to developing students’ coping strategies and reflective abilities in dealing with problems and challenges posed by real-life interpreting practice.

 

CONSECUTIVE INTERPRETING (3 units)
This course aims to enable students to develop the fundamental skills of consecutive interpreting. Through interpreting practice and other learning activities, students will be introduced to basic concepts and techniques such as analytical listening, intelligent use of memory, note-taking, public speaking and communication skills, and interpreting strategies.

 

ADVANCED CONSECUTIVE INTERPRETING (3 units)
This course is designed to equip students with advanced skills and knowledge in consecutive interpreting. It provides intensive and specialist training in various forms and topics to strengthen students’ interpreting ability. Students will also be introduced to tasks in legal and medical settings where consecutive interpreting is commonly used as the mode of interpretation. This course also aims to develop students’ awareness of current developments and research studies in consecutive interpreting.

课程内容 | ENGLISH | |

西方翻译理论(3学分)
本科主要讨论过往以及现、当代西方翻译理论与思想。本科以学生在本科阶段所学翻译基本知识为基础,侧重于讨论较高层次和复杂的翻译理论,并鼓励学生批判思考翻译问题,深入讨论现有的理论与模式,引导学生建立自己的翻译观点。本科内容与「中国翻译话语」科目相辅相成。

 

中国翻译话语(3学分)
本科旨在让学生熟悉中国自古迄今的译论思想。通过阅读基本文献及根据历史语境分析这些文本,培养学生对中国传统译论的认识,识别其特征,考察其发展低潮与高潮,并批判思考这一传统对于当代的意义。本科题目中特意使用「话语」而非「理论」一说,目的是要引起大家讨论「话语」与「理论」这两个概念在理论上的分别。本科目与「西方翻译理论」相辅相成,帮助学生建立理论根基,以此开展比较研究,在翻译和跨文化传意方面建立自己的见解。

 

译学必读(3学分)
本科旨在通过研究与阅读,增加学生对翻译和翻译理论的认识。课程重点是研读现、当代主要的英文版翻译理论著作。通过深入阅读和细致讨论,使学生深入理解当代翻译领域最具影响力的翻译理论和途径,并建立起自己的翻译观。

 

研究方法论(3学分)
本科旨在教导学生选择、设计及应用翻译与双语传意研究中常见的研究方法,鼓励学生对这些方法进行检讨,训练学生撰写学术或专业报告所需的技巧。

 

翻译讲座系列(一、二)(各3学分)
本科为翻译学科研究生、导师及同事提供讨论与对话的平台。研讨会旨在推动知识的交流和友好的讨论,从而增进对翻译知识和思想的追求。鼓励学生就各种译学话题,如翻译理论、翻译史、翻译实践、翻译评论、翻译与双语传意的关系等等,展开批评与讨论。除了进行研讨会专题报告外,学生还可参与翻译学研究中心举办的学术讲座。每场讲座为时一小时,另有讨论环节一小时,这些讲座提供有关译界的最新动态。

 

翻译方法与策略(英译中与中译英)(3学分)
本科侧重实践,旨在使学生熟悉不同的翻译方法和原则,强调翻译不同类型的文本时应当因应不同的目的而作不同的考虑。练习材料选自报刊杂志、法律与政府公文、舞台脚本、电影字幕、文学作品等各种来源。本科要求学生反思自己的翻译经验并建立个人策略,为从事专业翻译活动作准备。

 

双语传意:风格、修辞与表达(3学分)
本科侧重实践,旨在培养学生对英汉语言在不同的情况下使用的敏感度,帮助学生在传意活动中学会处理风格问题。本科要求学生就广泛主题进行阅读,并通过书面与口头形式表达意见,以增加对不同文体的认识。本科尤其注重培养写作风格,注重在书面和口头沟通时运用修辞手段和表述方式。本科强调英汉语言在语言学与文化上的差异,并运用话语行为理论和其他当代传意理论,增进学生对传意活动的认识。

 

双语表意:改编与重写(3学分)
本科侧重实践,旨在帮助学生有效地在跨语环境中运用材料撰写文本,即:使用中文源材料撰写英语文本,或以英文材料撰写中文文本。练习将涵盖众多文类和领域,包括新闻、娱乐、信息科技、科学、商业等。强调培训语境中的理解、简要表达概念、准确翻译术语、有效管理数据和良好传达信息等诸方面能力。培养学生区别各种信息和针对目标处理各种信息的能力,帮助他们提高英汉语能力,让他们意识到以吸引力强的方式表达和包装信息的重要性,并强调跨文化语境中处理信息时所需的文化触觉。

 

创意工业双语写作(3学分)
本科旨在培训双语写作人员以配合创意工业的需求。本科将向学生介绍各种创意工业,包括广告、出版、广播、表演与美术、电影制作和古董交易等,还会让学生就这些范畴展开研究,并赏识中英文创意写作的惯例和要求。本课程亦会引导学生探讨香港语境中涉及创作与文化的敏感文化及政治话题。

 

翻译大师班(3学分)
本科旨在向学生介绍更高级的翻译实践知识,每学期邀请特定翻译领域的成功人士授课。这些领域包括文学翻译、戏剧翻译、传媒翻译、法律翻译、金融翻译、中医药翻译等等。这些成功人士除与学生分享技巧和经验外,还会分析个别学生的表现,并重点讨论翻译过程的某些方面,就某些现有翻译观念提出质疑。

 

论文/长篇翻译或双语写作(6学分)
本科为期两学期。研究班学生须完成一篇较长的翻译或双语写作,或一篇毕业论文;实务班学生的项目是较长篇的翻译或双语写作。翻译项目应为英译汉或汉译英;双语写作项目要求同时使用中英文;论文则可以根据选题用中文或英文撰写。各项目篇幅一般为12,000字至16,000字,特殊情况下也容许灵活处理。每位学生均获个别指导。

 

性别与翻译(3学分)
本科旨在向学生介绍翻译中涉及的性别问题,主题包括性别建构、性别政治、性别话语和性别语言。学生会讨论这些因素如何影响译者选择翻译策略,也会审视性别研究中的关键词(如 “gender discourse”,“gendered discourse”)的中译,并分析译文背后相关翻译理论与意识形态的含义。本科采用跨学科途径教学。

 

语料库与翻译(3学分)
本科旨在向学生介绍如何在翻译实践和研究中运用语料库,帮助学生运用语料库来设计、研究和报告研究结果。

 

比较翻译理论(3学分)
本科帮助学生从比较的视角深入探讨翻译理论,将西方翻译思想与中国翻译话语进行比较研究,分析中西翻译话语的相似性和相异性。通过探讨这些异同点以及其背后的社会文化语境,使学生更深入理解翻译的一些根本问题,包括翻译的性质、原则和方法,并提高技能,拓宽视野。

 

赞助者与基督教书册翻译(3学分)
本科旨在介绍伦敦圣教书会于19至20世纪初对基督教书册翻译的重要地位。伦敦圣教书会(成立于1799年)是一间不为人熟识却极具影响力的新教机构。本科将审视赞助机构在汉译基督教书册过程中担任的角色;深入剖析圣教书会对翻译选材和意识形态审查方面所制订的政策;及探讨把圣教书会的意识形态植入中国所涉的问题和跨文化翻译活动中机构与个人的权力关系。

 

传译入门(3学分)
本科旨在帮助学生掌握接续传译的基本技巧。透过传译训练与其他学习活动,本科将向学生介绍基本的传译概念与技巧。

 

进阶英语知识与翻译(3学分)
本科旨让学生对跟翻译关系密切的英文文法重点、文本结构和风格有更精准的掌握。教材主要以英文为主,但也会同时选用适量的中文教材(例如用于翻译习作上),以配合科目的最终目标,提升学生翻译时的英文素养及触觉。

 

同声传译(3学分)
本科基于交替传译技巧,旨在通过密集训练来培养会议、商务谈判等情境下的同声传译技巧。学生将会通过不同形式、不同题材的练习锻炼同声传译技巧,练习选材均为真实演讲或仿真情景。

 

会议口译(3学分)
本科旨在精练学生在会议口译中的技巧。除了介绍会议口译的专业伦理,课程亦会教授学生准备会议口译的完整过程。课程练习包括模拟会议口译练习和真实现场会议口译,学生可以通过真实的口译经历来锻炼自己的应对策略及反思能力。

 

交替传译(3学分)
本科旨在为学生的交替传译能力打好基础。学生将在本课程中学习到公开演讲技巧、积极聆听实践、分析和处理演讲主旨、记忆力训练、笔记训练、口译前准备方法、解决问题策略以及交替传译技巧。此外,课程还会让学生提高检视自我传译水平的意识,从而能够在挑战性的情况下具有解决问题的能力。

 

进阶交替传译(3学分)
本科旨在让学生进一步提高交替口译技巧。密集多样的训练形式和题目涵盖各种专业范畴。医学、法律等专业中口译实践处处可见,学生将会在这些范畴中得到训练。本课程还将提高学生对于目前交替口译的发展与研究的认知。