Overview | | |

The Translation (B.A. Hons.) Programme is specifically designed to train bilingual and bicultural communicators to operate in local and national markets in the 21st century. Since the Programme started in 1990, our graduates have been making good use of what they have learnt and many of them have taken up rewarding careers.

The Programme is of four years' duration, and comprises a first year of "broad-based" study in the Faculty of Arts, followed by a three-year Major in Translation, which offers:

  • A university education combined with professional training – We provide professional translation training in a liberal arts and whole-person education environment; we help students develop intellectual and critical skills as well as the ability to learn and re-learn; and we help students train themselves to perform communicative tasks professionally in bilingual/trilingual and bicultural settings.
  • Strong links with the professional world – The Programme has a longstanding and extensive network of employer contacts from the translation and interpreting industries. We invite guest lecturers from the professional world to share their experience, we encourage students to undertake commissioned jobs, and we provide assistance for students who wish to explore local internship options.
  • A student-run translation agency – Known as the Translation Workshop, this agency takes on translation and interpreting work, under staff supervision, and serves clients from various sectors of the community, providing students with training in project management and delivery.
  • State-of-the-art translation and interpreting pedagogy – Students and teachers learn together through a wide range of activities, including small-group discussion, e-learning projects such as collaborative translation and online publishing, site visits to explore translation and interpreting in the real world, and work on professional assignments. Interpreting teaching takes place in our newly upgraded interpreting lab.

Aims

  • Providing professional translation training in a liberal arts and whole-person education environment
  • Helping students develop intellectual and critical skills as well as the ability to learn and re-learn
  • Helping students train themselves to perform communicative tasks professionally in bilingual/trilingual and bicultural settings

Programme Intended Learning Outcomes (PILOs)

Upon successful completion of the Programme, students should be able to:

  • Demonstrate proficiency in the Chinese and English languages, as well as the bilingual and bicultural competence needed for translating from and into English and Chinese, in speech and in writing
  • Reflect on the relationship between translation and other liberal arts courses, and the affinity of translation with the liberal aims of a university education
  • Apply knowledge of translation theories and methods as well as dynamic approaches to solving problems in interlingual and intercultural communication
  • Conduct independent academic research and translation projects
  • Undertake jobs with competence and skill in translation and/or interpreting and/or jobs in related professional fields, with the ethical awareness and operational ethos necessary for a chosen career
  • Meet the challenges of higher education and display academic preparedness for further studies in translation and/or interpreting, and other related disciplines

课程概览 | ENGLISH | |

香港中西文化汇聚,条件优越,在中国对外开放的时代中,扮演独特的角色。香港浸会大学翻译学(荣誉)学士课程,培育双语、双文化的沟通专才。课程于1990年创办,历届毕业生学以致用,在不同的岗位上为社会作出贡献。

翻译学课程为四年制课程,第一年为文学院「联合招生」,其后三年则为主修翻译学。课程特色如下:

  • 学术修养与专业技能并重:本课程让学生在博雅教育和全人教育的熏陶下,接受专业的翻译培训;提升学生的学术思维及批判技巧,也让他们掌握学习和再学的能力;协助学生训练自己以专业的态度在双语/三语及双文化环境下从事传意工作;
  • 与业界和专业人士紧密联系:本课程长久以来广泛与翻译及传译业界的公司和机构雇主保持紧密联系,除了邀请业界资深人士客席讲课分享经验外,还鼓励学生接洽翻译工作。本课程也会向有兴趣从事实习的学生提供协助;
  • 由学生营运的翻译社:「译坊」是一个完全由翻译学生营运的翻译组织,在老师的指导下,学生为社会上各行各业的客户提供专业的翻译及传译服务,从实践中汲取项目管理及按时完成工作的宝贵经验;
  • 先进的翻译与传译教学:师生一起实践一起学习,透过小组讨论、电子学习计划(如协作翻译、网上出版)、实地参观了解社会上翻译与传译的实际运作,并参与专业项目的工作。传译实验室刚完成系统更新工程,让传译学生体验最先进的传译系统。

课程宗旨

  • 于博雅教育及全人教育的理念下,为学生提供专业的翻译培训
  • 提升学生的学术思维及批判技巧,并让学生掌握学习和再学的能力
  • 协助学生训练自己以专业的态度在双语/三语及双文化环境下从事传意工作

课程的预期修习成效

修毕本课程后,学生将能:

  • 展示出高水平的中、英语文能力,以及作汉英、英汉、口语、书面翻译所需的双语及双文化素养;
  • 反思翻译与其他博雅学科的关系,以及大学教育博雅理念与翻译的相似之处;
  • 应用翻译理论及方法的知识与灵活的方法,解决语际及跨文化沟通的问题;
  • 独立地进行学术研究和翻译项目;
  • 胜任翻译及/或传译及/或相关专业行业的工作,掌握当中翻译的学识与技巧,具备心目中目标事业应有的道德操守和意识;
  • 积极应对高等教育的挑战,做好学术上的准备随时在翻译及/或传译,以及其他相关学术范畴上进修。